Criminal law, as opposed to civil law, is a set of laws and standards that deals with the prosecution against people who commit crimes. In a criminal prosecution, the state determines whether to penalize an individual for conduct or an omission, as opposed to two individuals disputing their privileges in a civil case. In this article, we’ll look at the criminal laws in Malibu, California, as well as the sanctions that come with them.
Code Enforcement in Malibu, CA
In Malibu, CA, Code Enforcement is a method by which the city ensures that the Zoning Ordinance and Malibu Municipal Code (MMC) are obeyed to protect and preserve public security, peace, health, safety, and wellbeing while regulating growth and expansion in compliance with the General Plan. Here, we will talk about the act of violence in Malibu, California, and the criminal laws against them.
Criminal Laws in Malibu, CA
- Manslaughter Criminal Law
Homicide, or the deliberate murder of another person, can lead to a prosecution of manslaughter. Involuntary manslaughter, voluntary manslaughter, and vehicular manslaughter are all viewed differently under California law. When someone is assassinated while committing a crime, they are typically charged with murder rather than manslaughter. Involuntary manslaughter can also occur when lawful acts are performed in a careless, negligent, or unjustified manner.
What are the Penalties for a Manslaughter?
California criminal law clearly defines the harsh punishments for involuntary, voluntary, and vehicular manslaughter. Involuntary manslaughter is typically described as a felony and can result in a penalty of imprisonment of two, three, or four years in a local jail or state prison. When determining the plaintiff’s penalty, the state may consider the plaintiff’s previous or current criminal conviction record. A person indulged in a Voluntary manslaughter crime may suffer three, six, or eleven years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000. A felony charge for vehicular manslaughter can result in a year in state prison. A sentence for felony vehicular manslaughter involves a penalty of 2, 4, or 6 years in county jail.
- Trespass Criminal Law
Trespass California criminal law specified in Penal Code Section 602 PC. Trespassing can be defined as a crime that involves entering or staying on another person’s land or property without their knowledge or consent.
Examples of Criminal Trespassing
- Cutting down, burning, or harming any kind of timber or wood that is planting or growing on someone else’s land.
- Digging, stealing, or carrying away soil, rock, dirt, stone, or any other material from any property located within the boundaries of any incorporated town without the permission of the landlord or authorized occupant.
- Damaging, acquiring, or carrying away any shellfish or other raw fish growing on any of those lands, whether covered by water or not, without the landlord’s or lawful occupant’s consent.
What are the Penalties for Criminal Trespass?
Criminal Trespass is strictly prohibited in the cities of California including Malibu, CA, and it possesses severe punishments.
- Criminal Trespass
Infraction penalized by a fine of up to $100.
Misdemeanor (up to 6 months in prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000).
- Aggravated Trespass
Misdemeanor (up to one year in prison and/or a fine of up to $2,000).
Felony charges (up to 3 yrs. in jail, including fine).
Cochran Firm Law
If you are looking for a trusted and prestigious firm to represent your case in a court of justice or to lodge a complaint against an offender, then Cochran Firm Law is absolutely the perfect option for you. You can contact us immediately for assistance or visit our website for further details.